Columbia County NY Water Works. This unique profitable private water system, serving over 120 homeowners, is located in Valatie on 5 acres and also includes a cottage to house machinery. The artisan well has a capacity for 1000 homes. Upscale potential for expansion, a great solid investment and use of a source for pure, non-chlorinated water.
Columbia County NY Water Works
Columbia County NY Water Works is in Valatie NY. The village is at the center of the town of Kinderhook on US 9. Valatie is know for its abundant high quality water and has several waterfalls.. The population was 1,819 at the 2010 census.
Valatie was first named Pachaquak, meaning “cleared meadow”, by the earliest Native American settlers—Algonquian Mohicans—who lived along the banks of Valatie’s two waterways now referred to as Valatie Kill and Kinderhook Creek.
Part of the original New Netherland, the first European settlers were the Dutch who settled Kinderhook around 1665, and named this area “Vaaltje”, which means “little falls”. The Dutch established grist and lumber mills on the Kinderhook Creek and Valatie Kill. About 1820, large cotton mills began being built. Eventually there were about nine mills. Valatie became one of the nation’s earliest industrial centers.
The mills attracted workers, tradesmen, merchants, and professionals.
The first post office was established in 1832. By the early 19th century there were nine cotton mills in Valatje operating on power derived from the famous waterfalls; the village was incorporated in 1856. By the 1840’s, Valatie was a vibrant village (of c1400) filled with stores, churches, and other facilities, making its Main Street the commercial center of Northern Columbia County. It remained so until the mills closed or moved South after WWII.
Recently, the village has undergone a rebirth with its population reaching about 2,000.
Columbia County NY Water Works
Valatie is home to the nation’s first “Santa Claus Club”, founded in 1946 after World War II by fifteen village veterans to provide holiday gifts for several critically ill children. Since that time the scope has widened. The club has provided joy for each Valatian child throughout the years, and continues to be a vital presence in the area. Every Christmas Eve, Santa travels throughout the village, personally visiting every child under age ten. It has received national and international fame. Interestingly, Virginia O’Hanlon Douglas (1890-1971) of “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa,” spent her last years in the village. The editorial written in response to her question helped establish Christmas as we know it. The Square itself honors Gov. Glynn and is on the site of the Union School 1876.
The village, which was incorporated in 1856, is noted also for ” its outstanding military service record, and as the home town of Gov. Martin H. Glynn. Glynn was a progressive leader and a founder of Ireland.
Recent immigrants to Valatie include members of the creative class, with musicians, authors, artists, and designers resettling from the NY metro area, as well as Albany commuters who have chosen the pace of village life over urban living. The unique backdrop of waterfalls at both ends of Main Street is a daily presence that changes with the seasonal rain and snowfall.
In September 2006 the village of Valatie celebrated the 150th anniversary of its incorporation with two parades and a carnival followed by fireworks and live music by the StringMasters, held at Callan Park.
For more information on Columbia County NY Water Works call 800-398-8802.
For more information on the Village of Valatie click here.
For more information on Columbia County click here.
- Address: Valatie, New York
- Price: $499,000
- Property ID: 4364
- Town Taxes: 368
- School Taxes: 1115
- Prop. Class: Commercial
- County: Columbia
- Schools: Ichabod Crane
- Contact: David Birch
- Agent Title: Broker
- Cell: 518-928-7239
- Brokerage: Chatham Real Estate
- Phone: 518-392-6400
- Town: Valatie
- Acreage: 5.56
- Road Type: Private
- Frontage: 176
- Supply: community
- Disposal: septic and fields
- Year Built: 1976
- Sq. Ft.: 504
- Building Details: Pump house for equipment